Accessing items of a remote project in offline mode - Cloud - 7.3

Talend Studio User Guide

Version
Cloud
7.3
Language
English
Product
Talend Big Data
Talend Big Data Platform
Talend Cloud
Talend Data Fabric
Talend Data Integration
Talend Data Management Platform
Talend Data Services Platform
Talend ESB
Talend MDM Platform
Talend Real-Time Big Data Platform
Module
Talend Studio
Content
Design and Development

Talend Studio allows you to open a remote project in offline (local) mode, so that you can edit any items in parallel with other users and commit your changes to SVN or Git when you log on to the remote project again, or save your changes locally if the edited items are locked by other users or are in conflict.

Note: Only the Git repository is supported for project collaboration on Talend Cloud.

Before you begin

You have already logged on to the remote project successfully via a remote connection so that the project information already exists in the workspace directory of your Talend Studio.

Procedure

  1. Launch your Talend Studio, or if you have already opened the project using a remote connection, restart your Studio by selecting File > Switch Project or Workspace from the menu.
  2. Create a local connection without modifying the workspace directory that contains the information of the remote project in the Workspace field.
  3. On the login screen, select the local connection you just created from the Connection list, and select the remote project from the Project field, and then click Finish.

Results

Now you can continue working locally on the project branch that you previously worked on.

Available in:

Big Data

Big Data Platform

Data Fabric

Data Integration

Data Management Platform

Data Services Platform

ESB

MDM Platform

Real-Time Big Data Platform

When you work in offline mode on an SVN project, items with uncommitted changes are preceded by a > symbol in the Repository tree view, until you commit them to the SVN when you reopen the project using a remote connection.

When you work in offline mode on a Git project, you are working on the local branch associated with the branch you last worked on. Your changes are automatically committed to your local Git repository, and the top bar of the Repository tree view indicates the number of local commits.

You can revert the current local branch, switch between local branches and delete local branches you are not currently working on.

When you reopen the project using a remote connection and if you select any branch on which you made changes while your worked in offline mode, you will be presented the corresponding local branch and you need push your commits manually to the remote Git repository.

For more information about working with project branches, see Working with project branches and tags.