Opening or editing a database connection - Cloud - 7.3

Talend Studio User Guide

Version
Cloud
7.3
Language
English
Product
Talend Big Data
Talend Big Data Platform
Talend Cloud
Talend Data Fabric
Talend Data Integration
Talend Data Management Platform
Talend Data Services Platform
Talend ESB
Talend MDM Platform
Talend Real-Time Big Data Platform
Module
Talend Studio
Content
Design and Development
Last publication date
2024-02-13
Available in...

Big Data Platform

Cloud API Services Platform

Cloud Big Data Platform

Cloud Data Fabric

Cloud Data Management Platform

Data Fabric

Data Management Platform

Data Services Platform

MDM Platform

Real-Time Big Data Platform

You can edit the connection to a specific database and change the connection metadata and the connection information.

Before you begin

A database connection is created in the Profiling perspective.

Procedure

  1. In the DQ Repository tree view, expand Metadata > DB Connection.
  2. Either:
    • Double-click the database connection you want to open, or,
    • Right-click the database connection and select Open in the contextual menu.
    The Database Connection wizard is displayed.
  3. Go through the steps in the wizard and modify the database connection settings as required.
  4. Click Finish to validate the modifications.
    A dialog box opens prompting you to reload the updated database connection.
  5. If you want to reload the new database structure for the updated database connection, select reload.
    Note: If you select the don't reload option, you will still be able to execute the analyses using the connection even after you update it.
    When the database connection is used by profiling analyses in the Studio, another dialog box is displayed to list all the analyses that use the database connection. It alerts you that if you reload the database new structure, all the analyses using the connection will become unusable although they will be always listed in the DQ Repository tree view.
  6. Click OK to accept reloading the database structure or Cancel to cancel the operation and close the dialog box.
    A number of confirmation messages are displayed one after the other.
  7. Click OK to close the messages and reload the structure of the new connection.