Working with a custom model with a workflow - 8.0

Talend Data Catalog User Guide

Version
8.0
Language
English
Product
Talend Big Data Platform
Talend Data Fabric
Talend Data Management Platform
Talend Data Services Platform
Talend MDM Platform
Talend Real-Time Big Data Platform
Module
Talend Data Catalog
Content
Data Governance
Last publication date
2023-09-26

You can use the workflow process when you have a formal development process that involves multiple users.

provides a flexible and complete set of possible workflow and publication processes.

You can implement a set of workflow approval and publication processes for a custom model with a Talend Data Catalog Advanced or Advanced Plus license edition.

Workflow process

The workflow is a flexible and predefined sequence of activities around object proposal, review, approval, publishing and deprecation. You can customize the process to require only publishing activity, approval with or without review, approval and review by one or multiple users.

The custom model must have a default version before enabling the workflow. Once configured, you cannot disable or change the process.

The workflow process applies to objects. When the workflow is enabled, you cannot delete an object that has published child objects.

The sensitivity label and all the curation tags (Certified, Endorsed, Warned, and Comment) are not attributes/properties of the object but additional labels or tags. They are not included in the workflow process.

Versioning and workflow

By default, a custom model has no workflow requirement. When the workflow feature is not enabled, changes to the custom model are reflected immediately throughout the catalog.

When you enable the workflow feature, Talend Data Catalog creates a published version of the custom model.
  • The published version is the one presented to most of the users. You cannot directly edit its contents, with or without permissions.
  • The development version contains copies of published model contents and contents that have not been published. You can edit the contents and use the Publish workflow step to propagate the changes to the published version.

Business users have access to the published version, and users who review and edit the custom model have also an access to the development version.