To make your preparations accessible to the other members of your organization, you can share the folder in which they are located.
Preparations can only be shared via folders and the three possible statuses for folders are the following:
- means you are Owner of the folder and it has not been shared yet.
- means you are Owner of the folder and it has been shared.
- means the folder has been shared with you as Editor.
This means that when creating and sharing preparations folders, a user can be either Owner or Editor of a folder, with the corresponding rights:
- A folder Owner can delete, rename and share a folder.
- A folder Editor can delete and rename a folder, but cannot share it.
The following rules apply regarding ownership and access to a folder:
- A folder creator receives the Owner role only if he also owns at least one of the parent of this new folder.
- The Owner role for a folder cannot be acquired or lost after its creation.
- If a folder Owner decides to stop sharing a folder with other users, they lose all access to its content.
To summarize the previous rules and behaviours, let's take the following example:
- User A owns Folder 1, containing preparations and shares it with User B as
User B can access and work on preparations contained in Folder 1
- User B creates Folder 2 as a subfolder of Folder 1.
User B will only have the Editor role on Folder 2 because User B does not own the parent Folder 1. The consequence is that User B will not be able to share Folder 2 to User C. However, User B is able to share Folder 4 to User C because User B owns Folder 3.
- User B asks User A to share Folder 1 to User C.
User C can now acces and work on the content of Folder 1 and Folder 2.
But if User A decides to remove User C from the list of editors for Folder 1, User C will lose all access to Folder 1 and the preparations it contains. More generally, if a user decides to stop sharing a folder with you, you lose all access to its content.
- Click Preparations to open the list of preparations and folders containing preparations.
- Point your mouse over the folder you want to share in order to display the available options.
Click the share icon to open the Share content for folder
- Browse the All Users and Groups list or use the Find user/group search bar to select a user or group.
Click a user or group and click Add to List to add them
to the list of collaborators.
You can use Ctrl + Click or Shift + Click to select several users at a time.
- Click Confirm.
The selected users or groups have been added to the list of contributors as Editors and they can now see your folder in the Preparations view. They will be able to edit all the preparations contained in the shared folder, enabling collaborative work. To prevent users from overwriting the work of the others, only one person is able to access the preparation at a time.
What has been shared is the preparation only, and not the dataset it is based upon.