Disabling the shared mode for Talend Studio - 8.0

Talend Installation Guide

Version
8.0
Language
English
Operating system
Linux
Subscription type
Subscription
Product
Talend Big Data
Talend Big Data Platform
Talend Data Fabric
Talend Data Integration
Talend Data Management Platform
Talend Data Services Platform
Talend ESB
Talend MDM Platform
Talend Real-Time Big Data Platform
Module
Talend Activity Monitoring Console
Talend Administration Center
Talend Artifact Repository
Talend CommandLine
Talend Data Preparation
Talend Data Stewardship
Talend ESB
Talend Identity and Access Management
Talend Installer
Talend JobServer
Talend LogServer
Talend MDM Server
Talend MDM Web UI
Talend Runtime
Talend SAP RFC Server
Talend Studio
Content
Installation and Upgrade
Last publication date
2022-10-30

If the shared mode is enabled for Talend Studio, the admin user needs to disable it before performing some operations, for example, applying an update to Talend Studio.

About this task

Only the admin user can disable the shared mode and apply an update for Talend Studio.

Procedure

  1. Remove the following two parameters from the <studio>/configuration/config.ini file.
    osgi.configuration.area=@user.home/studio/configuration
    osgi.instance.area=@user.home/studio/workspace
  2. Delete the p2 folder under the Talend Studio installation directory.
  3. Rename the p2_bak folder under the Talend Studio installation directory to p2.
  4. Open the corresponding .ini file under the Talend Studio installation directory.
  5. Specify the URL of the repository for the update to be applied by editing the value of the -Dtalend.studio.p2.update parameter.
    -Dtalend.studio.p2.update=<update-url>
  6. Run commandline.bat under the Talend Studio installation directory.
    The update will be applied automatically. After that, the admin user can re-enable the shared mode.