You can make your connections accessible to other users to enable collaborative work on a single data source.
Sharing a connection can be useful to share a data source, and allow other users to create datasets. Connections can be shared by users who have been given the Share connections permission in Talend Management Console.
Users or group of users that you can share connections with are also managed in Talend Management Console, and you can assign them specific roles with different rights. These rights are:
- Owner: is able to see, edit, delete and share the connection.
- Editor: is able to see, edit and share the connection.
- Viewer: is able to see and share the connection.
However, users can only share a connection with rights less than or equal to the ones they already have. If User A has the Editor role on a connection and shares it with User B, User A can only give User B the Viewer or Editor role, but not Owner.
- means the connection is not shared yet.
- means the connection is shared with other users as Owner.
- means the connection is shared with you as Editor or Viewer.
When sharing a connection, the behaviour is the following:
- Directly sharing a connection will give access to it, and allow actions based on the rights given by the one sharing the connection.
- Revoking access to a connection will prevent other users from seeing or using it.
- Revoking access to a connection will not prevent other users from seeing datasets based on this connection, but every actions that require the connection won't be available anymore, like refreshing the sample, or running a pipeline.
To summarize the previous rules and behaviours, let's take the following example:
- User A has access to Connection 1 and decides to share it with User
- User B now has access to Connection 1, and can even create a new
dataset (Dataset 2) based on the shared connection.
- User A now stops sharing Connection 1 with User B.
User B completely loses access to Connection 1. However, User B can still access Dataset 2 with limited actions, namely they will not be able to refresh the dataset sample and display up to date data. To restore full access to the dataset based on Connection 1, User B will have to ask User A to share the connection again.
- Go to the Connections page.
To share your connection from the connection list:
- Hover your mouse cursor over the connection until the icons appear.
Click the sharing icon to open the configuration window.
To share your connection:
User groups have been previously created on Talend Management Console.
- with one user or one user group: select the group or person's name on the left panel and click the + icon that appears when you hover your mouse cursor over the name in order to add this user as a collaborator.
- with several users or several user groups at once: select the groups or users on the left panel using Ctrl + Click or Shift + Click then select the role you want to give them in the Add as... list to add these users as collaborators.
To change the collaborators rights on the connection, select the appropriate
access level on the list next to their names.
- To remove users or groups from the list of collaborators, click the red cross icon that appears when pointing your mouse over their names.
- Click Share to take your changes into account and close the configuration window.
The connection sharing status changes to connection shared with other user(s).