Sharing a dataset - Cloud

Talend Cloud Data Preparation User Guide

EnrichVersion
Cloud
EnrichProdName
Talend Cloud
EnrichPlatform
Talend Data Preparation
task
Administration and Monitoring > Managing connections
Data Quality and Preparation > Cleansing data
Data Quality and Preparation > Managing datasets

You can make your datasets accessible to other users to enable collaborative work on a single data source.

Sharing a dataset can be useful to avoid duplication for example, and allows other users to create pipelines on this data. Datasets can be shared by users who have been given the Share datasets and Share connections permissions in Talend Management Console. It allows the dataset owner to control the access level other users have on the shared dataset.

Users or group of users that you can share connections with are also managed in Talend Management Console, and you can assign them specific roles with different rights. These rights are:

  • Owner: is able to see, edit, delete and share the dataset, as well as to see the connection associated with the dataset.
  • Editor: is able to see, edit and share the dataset, as well as to see the connection associated with the dataset.
  • Viewer: is able to see, share the dataset and to see the connection associated with the dataset.

However, users can only share a dataset with rights less than or equal to the ones they already have. If user A has the Editor role on a dataset and shares it with user B, User A can only give User B the Viewer or Editor role, but not Owner.

There are three sharing statuses:
  • means the dataset is not shared yet.
  • means the dataset is shared with other users as Owner.
  • means the dataset is shared with you as Editor or Viewer.

When sharing a dataset, the behaviour is the following:

  • Sharing a dataset will give access to it, and allow actions based on the rights given by the user sharing the dataset.
  • When sharing a dataset, the underlying connection is also shared indirectly, with viewer rights.
  • Revoking access to a dataset will prevent other users from seeing or using the dataset, as well as the underlying connection. In addition, pipelines using the dataset

To summarize the previous rules and behaviors, let's take the following example:

  1. User A has access to Connection 1 and Dataset 1, that is based on this connection, and decides to share Dataset 1 with User B.
  2. In addition to Dataset 1, Connection 1 is also shared indirectly, so user B will have access to both and can even create a new dataset (Dataset 2) based on the shared Connection 1.
  3. User A now stops sharing dataset 1 with User B.

    User B completely loses access to both Dataset 1 and Connection 1. However, User B can still access Dataset 2 with limited actions, but will not be able to refresh the dataset sample and display up to date data. To restore full access to dataset 2, user B will have to ask User A to give access to Connection 1 again.

Procedure

  1. Go to the Datasets page.
    On this page, you can either:
    • share the dataset directly from the dataset list.
    • open the dataset detailed view and share it using the icon on the top right menu.
  2. Click the sharing icon to open the configuration window.
  3. To share your dataset:
    1. with one user or one user group: select the group or person's name on the left panel and click the + icon that appears when you hover your mouse cursor over the name in order to add this user as a collaborator.
    2. with several users or several user groups at once: select the groups or users on the left panel using Ctrl + Click or Shift + Click then select the role you want to give them in the ADD AS... list to add these users as collaborators.
    User groups have been previously created on Talend Management Console.
  4. To change the collaborators rights on the dataset, select the appropriate access level on the list next to their names.
  5. To remove users from the list of collaborators, click the red cross icon that appears when pointing your mouse over their names.
    Note: You can use this option to remove yourself from the list of contributors of a dataset that has been shared with you, in order to remove the underlying connection from your list for example.
  6. Click SHARE to take your changes into account and close the configuration window.

Results

The selected users or user groups have been added to the list of contributors and they can now see your dataset on the Datasets page.

The dataset sharing status changes to dataset shared with other user(s).