Lock types - 6.2

Talend Real-time Big Data Platform Studio User Guide

EnrichVersion
6.2
EnrichProdName
Talend Real-Time Big Data Platform
task
Data Quality and Preparation
Design and Development
EnrichPlatform
Talend Studio

The available lock modes are the following: the automatic lock mode, the semi-automatic lock mode and the manual lock mode. An Administrator can define the lock mode for all projects created in Talend Administration Center. For more information, see the Talend Administration Center User Guide.

The sections below describe the above lock modes.

Automatic lock mode

By default, the first user who creates or opens an item, owns the lock on this particular item and can edit it until he unlocks it, generally when closing and/or saving the changes made. When the lock is removed from an item, the item gets committed to the Git or SVN. This lock mode is the automatic mode.

Note

This is the default mode for SVN or Git storage.

Also, you have the possibility to log information about the changes you made on any item, on the condition that the relevant option is selected in Talend Administration Center. See the Talend Administration Center User Guide for further information and read Logging information on edited items.

Semi-automatic lock mode

When the Ask user option is selected for a data quality project in the Talend Administration Center web application, you get prompted to put a lock on any item you try to open in the studio or on any analysis or report you try to run. For further information, see the section about managing projects in the Talend Administration Center User Guide.

If you want to edit the item you are opening, click Yes to put a lock on it. The item becomes read-only for other users like in the default mode.

When closing or saving the item, you get prompted again to unlock it. When you complete the changes, click Yes to remove the lock and allow other users to work on the item if needed.

If you do not need to open the item in edition mode (lock) then click No when prompted to open it in read-only mode.

Manual lock mode

When the Manual lock mode option is selected for a data quality project in Talend Studio, you cannot lock any item, unless intentionally.

To intentionally lock an item (for edition purpose for example), simply right-click it in the DQ Repository tree view and select the Lock option.

The same way, a locked item can only be unlocked through the same procedure by the lock owner (or through Talend Administration Center by the administrator).