How to add, modify and delete data records from the hierarchy view - 6.5

Talend MDM Web User Interface User Guide

EnrichVersion
6.5
EnrichProdName
Talend Data Fabric
Talend MDM Platform
Talend Open Studio for MDM
task
Data Governance
EnrichPlatform
Talend MDM Web UI

Once a hierarchy is created, you can add, modify and delete data records from the hierarchy view.

Prerequisite(s): The MDM server is already launched. At least one hierarchy has been created. You have been assigned a role with the appropriate user authorization and access rights. For further information, see Security.

Note

Make sure that you have selected:

-the data container that holds the master data you want to manage,

-the data model against which the master data will be validated.

For further information, see Accessing data containers and data models.

To create a new record from the hierarchy view, do the following:

  1. Right-click an existing record or folder at the level at which you want to create a new record, and then click Create > Create Sibling to create a record as a sibling of the existing record, or click Create > Create Child to create a record as a child of the existing record.

    If you create a record as a child of the existing record, the relevant foreign key is automatically created.

    If Create Child is grayed out, this means you cannot create a child of the existing record.

  2. In the blank record that opens, complete the relevant fields, and then click Save to save your record and continue editing, or click Save and close.

    Each mandatory field is marked with an asterisk.

In this example, a new record Philosophy is created as a sibling of the existing record Critics, and the newly created record is listed under the root tag.

To edit a record from the hierarchy view, double-click the record you want to edit, then modify the record according to your needs, and finally click Save to validate your changes.

To delete a record from the hierarchy view, right-click the record you want to delete, and then click Delete > Send to Trash to send the record to the Recycle Bin, or click Delete > Delete to permanently delete the record.