Lock principle - 6.5

Talend Data Integration Studio User Guide

EnrichVersion
6.5
EnrichProdName
Talend Data Integration
task
Design and Development
EnrichPlatform
Talend Studio

The Lock status is a particular state for all items of your Talend projects. Locks are to be used to prevent edition conflicts as different users can possibly work on the same item.

How to lock/unlock an item (default)

In the default mode, when you first open an item in the Repository tree view, you get the edition privilege and a green lock is docked at the edited item.

Until you release the lock by closing the item you are editing, other users will not be able to make any change on it. The item will show with a red lock in their Repository tree views.

All other users will have a read-only access for locked items until they are unlocked.

Note

A locked item can only be unlocked by the lock owner.

To intentionally lock/unlock an item, simply right-click it in the Repository tree view and select Lock/Unlock.

How to access locked items (default)

On the Repository tree view, the red lock appended to the repository item shows that the item is already edited by another user, or, in the case of a business model, is already opened in the Talend Administration Center.

But you can still open and view the locked item in the design workspace in a read-only mode. Right-click the item in the Repository tree view, and then click Open to view the item content.

Alternatively, you can get read-write access to locked items by opening the project in offline mode. For more information, see How to access items of a remote project in offline mode.