How to handle changes not committed to the SVN or Git - 6.5

Talend Data Integration Studio User Guide

EnrichVersion
6.5
EnrichProdName
Talend Data Integration
task
Design and Development
EnrichPlatform
Talend Studio

Warning

For a Git managed project, information in this section is applicable only when you are working on a remote branch. For more information on working with project branches, see Working with project branches and tags.

When the commit mode is set to Unlocked Items in Talend Administration Center, the changes you make to an item are committed to the SVN or Git only after the item is unlocked.

Note

In the Repository tree view of Talend Studio, an item with uncommitted changes is preceded by a > symbol.

In this case, if you're the only owner of a changed item, you can get your changes committed to the SVN or Git by:

  • closing the item if the lock mode is set to Automatic in Talend Administration Center.

  • closing the item and unlocking it when prompted if the lock mode is set to Ask user in Talend Administration Center.

  • closing the item and manually unlocking it before quitting the Studio if the lock mode is set to Manual in Talend Administration Center.

In cetain situations, a dialog box opens when uncommitted items are found, providing you options to handle those items. For details, see Handling uncommitted items when prompted (SVN only) and Handling uncommitted items when prompted (Git only) respectively.

For more information about the commit mode and lock mode options, see Talend Administration Center User Guide.

Handling uncommitted items when prompted (SVN only)

When working on an SVN project, a dialog box appears when you log on to a remote project if:

  • you have created, modified, or deleted any item when working on the project in offline mode.

    For how to open a remote project in offline mode, see How to access items of a remote project in offline mode.

  • any item has been modified but it is currently locked by another user.

  • any item is in conflict with its state on the SVN server.

Click OK to commit the changes to the selected items to the SVN and revert those items that are not selected, which are either currently locked by other users or are in conflict state, and continue opening the remote project. Presently no merge action is supported.

Warning

If you click OK, changes to items that are not selected will be permanently lost.

To save your changes to items that are locked or in conflict, click Cancel, open the SVN project offline, and then export the items to your local file system so that you can import them into your Studio when needed.

Handling uncommitted items when prompted (Git only)

When you work on a Git project in local mode and perform a pull or push operation or switch to the associated remote branch, a dialog box pops up if:

  • you have made changes to your project items while the Commit mode is set to Unlocked Items and the Lock mode is set to Manual in Talend Administration Center.

  • any files have been manually added to the project folder of your Talend Studio, regardless of the Commit mode and Lock mode settings in Talend Administration Center.

  • any items are found to have changes not committed to your local Git repository for any reason.

You can:

  • expand log to view the uncommitted files.

  • click Commit to commit the files to your local Git repository and continue your current operation.

  • click Reset to abort your changes and continue your current operation.

  • click Cancel to cancel your current operation without committing or removing the uncommitted files.