Migrating the database for a group of reports - 7.1

Talend Data Management Platform Studio User Guide

author
Talend Documentation Team
EnrichVersion
7.1
EnrichProdName
Talend Data Management Platform
task
Design and Development
EnrichPlatform
Talend Studio

About this task

If you import your reports or project from an older version of the studio, you must migrate the database in order to be able to store the report data in the defined database. The version of the distant database must always match that of the studio.

If you have imported a big number of reports, you can do a simultaneous update of the database for a group of reports as this will be less time consuming.

Prerequisite(s): You have already migrated your reports or your project from an older version of the studio as outlined in Importing data profiling items or projects. You have selected the Profiling perspective in the studio.

To migrate the database for a group of reports, do the following:

Procedure

  1. In the menu bar, select Window > Preferences to display the Preferences window.
  2. Start typing Reporting in the filter field and then select Reporting from the list to open the Reporting page.
  3. Set the distant database settings as outlined in Setting up a distant database and click Apply to report editors....
    You can export the database settings as a context connection and store it in the studio repository. For further information, see Using context variables to connect to the report database.
    A dialog box is displayed to list all reports migrated or generated in the studio.
  4. Select the check boxes of the reports for which you want to apply the database settings or the context connection and then click OK.
    A confirmation message is displayed.
    You can not apply the database connection to a report that is open in the Profiling perspective. An error message appears at the bottom of the dialog box. Clear the report check box to close the error.
  5. Click OK to close the confirmation message.
  6. In the Preferences window, click OK.
    A message is displayed to confirm the successful upgrade of the datamart.
  7. Click OK to close the confirmation message and the Preferences window.