Deploying objects to the MDM Server - 6.1

Talend Data Fabric Studio User Guide

EnrichVersion
6.1
EnrichProdName
Talend Data Fabric
task
Data Governance
Data Quality and Preparation
Design and Development
EnrichPlatform
Talend Studio

You must always deploy your objects to the MDM Server for any changes you make to be taken into account at runtime.

You have a choice of how you deploy objects to the MDM Server.

  • You can click the Update Server button in the repository icon bar to deploy some or all of the objects that have changed in the MDM Repository since your last deployment.

    Note

    In the specific case of Jobs, only those Jobs that have previously been deployed using the Deploy to... option are proposed for update.

  • You can manually select which objects you want to deploy from the MDM Repository tree view, either by specifying the destination server explicitly or by choosing to deploy to the last server used.

  • You can edit the Preferences so that, when you save an object, it is automatically deployed to the last server used.

Warning

Entity names must be unique, both within a Data Model and across multiple Data Models deployed to the same MDM Server.

The steps involved in each of these different deployment methods are described in more detail in the following procedures. For further information on deploying Jobs, see How to deploy Jobs from the MDM perspective

To deploy objects that have changed in the MDM Repository since your last deployment, do the following:

  1. In the MDM Repository tree view, click the Update Server button in the repository icon bar.

  2. In the window that opens, select the server where you want to deploy the object or objects from the drop-down list, select the object or objects to deploy, and then click OK to perform the deployment.

To manually select the objects you want to deploy to the MDM Server, do the following:

  1. In the MDM Repository tree view, right-click the object you want to deploy, and then click one of the following deployment options:

    • Deploy To... to select the MDM Server where you want to deploy the object from the list of available servers

    • Deploy To Last Server to reuse the server you used for the most recent deployment action

    • Update Server to open the server update dialog box, as described in the previous procedure.

    Note

    The deployment options available may vary depending on the type of object you want to deploy, and if you are deploying the object for the first time or if it has already been deployed to a server.

    Note

    If you want to deploy multiple objects at the same time, press and hold down the Ctrl key while you click each of the objects you want to deploy.

  2. A dialog box appears, allowing you to add dependencies for the selected object or objects.

    Click the Add Dependencies button to add dependencies of the selected object(s).

    You can click the Add Dependencies button for multiple times until all object dependencies are added or click the Add All Dependencies button to add all object dependencies in one go.

    Then, click Continue.

    For more information about object dependencies, see Managing object dependencies in the MDM Repository.

  3. If appropriate, select the server where you want to deploy the objects in the [Select server location definition] window.

  4. In the [Deploy to Talend MDM] window, leave the Context scripts check box selected.

  5. Click Finish to deploy your objects.

To automatically deploy objects to the MDM Server on saving, do the following:

  1. Click Windows > Preferences.

    The [Preferences] window opens.

  2. Expand Talend, and then click MDM.

  3. Select the Automatically deploy items onto last server when saving check box, and then click OK to enable this option.

    If this option is enabled, whenever you save any changes you make to an object, the object is automatically deployed to the MDM Server.

You can also deploy all types of objects except Jobs and workflows to the MDM server using the command mDeployItem from the CommandLine. To deploy Jobs to the MDM server, use the command mDeployJob. To deploy workflows to the MDM server, use the command mDeployWorkflow. To deploy new objects or the existing objects that have changed in the MDM Repository since your last deployment, use the command mUpdateServer. For more information on how to use these commands, see the help provided in the CommandLine.

For more information about the CommandLine, see the appendix on CommandLine in the Talend Administration Center User Guide.

If the objects you want to deploy are being handled and deployed by another user, one or more conflicts will occur. You can set up a strategy to reconcile the conflict(s). For more information, see Setting up a reconciliation strategy for deployment conflicts.

You can also undeploy one or more deployed objects from the MDM server. For more information, see Undeploying one or more objects from the MDM Server.

Setting up a reconciliation strategy for deployment conflicts

Sometimes, several users may handle objects simultaneously. In this case, conflicts could easily occur when one of the users wants to deploy objects to the MDM server. You can set up a reconciliation strategy for the deployment conflict(s).

Warning

This feature is only available to users who install MDM servers with relational databases.

The following reconciliation strategies for deployment conflicts are available:

  • Default (Skip same, overwrite difference, and deploy not exists): the same objects are skipped, the objects which are different from those on the studio side will be overwritten, and the objects which do not exist will be created.

  • Overwrite All: all relevant objects will be overwritten.

  • Skip Difference (Skip same and different object): both the same objects and the objects which are different from the those on the studio side will be skipped.

To set up the reconciliation strategy for deployment conflicts in the dialog box that warns about deployment conflict(s), proceed as follows:

  1. In case of one or more deployment conflict(s), the following dialog box appears:

  2. Select the desired reconciliation strategy according to your need.

  3. Select the Remember my choice, don't show this dialog again check box to make the reconciliation strategy remain unchanged upon validation.

    If you want to show this dialog box once again so that you can set up a new reconciliation strategy, select the Show the conflict dialog when more than one object has conflict check box in the [Preferences] dialog box. For more information, see Setting up a reconciliation strategy in Preferences.

  4. If needed, click the Show Conflicts button to learn about the conflict details.

    The Operation column allows you to select the reconciliation action to be taken for each conflict.

    Besides, you can set up the operation in batch mode by clicking the buttons on the right side of the dialog box.

    If you want to overwrite all relevant objects, click Overwrite All. If you want to skip the same objects, click Skip Same. If you want to skip the objects which are different from those on the studio side, click Skip Difference.

    If needed, select the Only Show Conflict and Modified Objects check box to view only the objects which are modified and involved in the conflicts.

    If needed, select the Show Local And Server Timestamp check box to view the timestamp differences.

    Click OK to close the dialog box.

  5. Click OK to validate your changes.

Alternatively, you can set up the reconciliation strategy for deployment conflicts in the [Preferences] dialog box.

To do that, proceed as follows:

  1. From the menu bar, click Window > Preferences to open the [Preferences] dialog box.

  2. Expand the Talend > MDM node and click Consistency.

  3. By default, the Show the conflict dialog when more than one object has conflict check box is selected. It means that the dialog box that warns about deployment conflict(s) will appear even if only one deployment conflict occurs.

  4. Select the appropriate reconciliation strategy option according to your needs.

  5. Click OK to validate your changes.