Managing user roles - 6.1

Talend Data Fabric Studio User Guide

EnrichVersion
6.1
EnrichProdName
Talend Data Fabric
task
Data Governance
Data Quality and Preparation
Design and Development
EnrichPlatform
Talend Studio

An authorized user can also import/export, copy/paste and delete created user roles from Talend Studio.

How to export user roles

From Talend Studio you can export one or multiple user roles in order to exchange them between two different MDM Servers or Repositories.

The steps to export one or multiple user roles are similar to those for any other data object in the MDM Repository tree view. For detailed information on how to export data containers, see How to export data models.

How to import user roles

From Talend Studio you can import user roles created on other MDM servers or in different MDM Repositories into the current MDM Repository.

The steps to import one or multiple user roles are similar to those for any other data object in the MDM Repository tree view. For detailed information on how to import data containers, see How to import data models.

How to edit a user role

You can open a user role you have already created to check its settings and/or edit the defined access type and parameters.

Prerequisite(s): You have already connected to the MDM server in Talend Studio. At least one user role exists.

To edit a user role, do the following:

  1. In the MDM Repositorytree view, expand the Role node.

  2. Right-click the user role you want to edit and select Edit from the contextual menu.

    An editor opens on the selected user role.

  3. Modify the user role permissions as needed through selecting the data object type to which you want to give access, selecting the data object itself and finally giving a read-only or a write access. For further information, see Creating a user role.

  4. Click the save icon on the toolbar or press Ctrl + S on your keyboard to save your changes.

The selected user role is modified accordingly.

How to copy/paste a user role

To avoid creating one or multiple user roles from scratch, you can copy an existing one in the MDM Repository tree view and modify its parameters to have a new user role.

Prerequisite(s): You have already connected to the MDM server in Talend Studio. At least one user role exists.

To copy/paste a user role, do the following:

  1. In the MDM Repository tree view, expand the Role node.

  2. Right-click the user role you want to duplicate and select Copy from the contextual menu.

  3. Right-click the Role node and select Paste from the contextual menu.

    A dialog box displays prompting you to enter a name for the new user role.

  4. Enter a name for the new user role and click OK to validate the changes and close the dialog box.

    The new user role is listed under the Role node in the MDM Repository tree view.

How to duplicate a user role

To avoid creating one or multiple user roles from scratch, you can duplicate an existing one in the MDM Repository tree view and modify its parameters to have a new user role.

Prerequisite(s): You have already connected to the MDM server in Talend Studio. At least one user role exists.

To duplicate a user role, do the following:

  1. In the MDM Repository tree view, expand the Role node.

  2. Right-click the user role you want to duplicate and select Duplicate from the contextual menu.

    A dialog box displays prompting you to enter a name for the new user role.

  3. Enter a name for the new user role and click OK to validate the changes and close the dialog box.

    The new user role is listed under the Role node in the MDM Repository tree view.

Note

You can also duplicate the user role if you drop it onto its parent node in the MDM Repository tree view.

How to delete a user role

You can delete any of the user roles you create through a simple right-click on the selected item.

Prerequisite(s): You have already connected to the MDM server in Talend Studio. At least one user role exists.

To delete a user role:

  1. In the MDM Repository tree view, expand the Role node.

  2. Right-click the user role you want to delete and select Delete from the contextual menu.

    A confirmation dialog box displays prompting you to confirm the deletion operation or to cancel it.

  3. Click OK to close the dialog box.

    The selected user role is deleted from the MDM Repository tree view.