Managing database connections - 6.2

Talend MDM Platform Studio User Guide

EnrichVersion
6.2
EnrichProdName
Talend MDM Platform
task
Data Governance
Data Quality and Preparation
Design and Development
EnrichPlatform
Talend Studio

Many management options are available for database connections including editing and duplicating the connection or adding a task to it.

The sections below explain in detail these management options.

How to open or edit a database connection

You can edit the connection to a specific database and change the connection metadata and the connection information.

Prerequisite(s): A database connection is created in the Profiling perspective of the studio. For further information, see Connecting to a database.

To edit an existing database connection, do the following:

  1. In the DQ Repository tree view, expand Metadata > DB Connection.

  2. Either:

    • Double-click the database connection you want to open, or,

    • Right-click the database connection and select Open in the contextual menu.

    The connection editor for the selected database connection is displayed.

  3. Modify the connection metadata in the Connection Metadata view, as required.

  4. Click the Edit... button in the Connection information view to open the [Database Connection] wizard.

  5. Go through the steps in the wizard and modify the database connection settings as required.

  6. Click Finish to validate the modifications.

    A dialog box opens prompting you to reload the updated database connection.

  7. Select the reload option if you want to reload the new database structure for the updated database connection.

    Note

    If you select the don't reload option, you will still be able to execute the analyses using the connection even after you update it.

    If the database connection is used by profiling analyses in the Studio, another dialog box is displayed to list all the analyses that use the database connection. It alerts you that if you reload the database new structure, all the analyses using the connection will become unusable although they will be always listed in the DQ Repository tree view.

  8. Click OK to accept reloading the database structure or Cancel to cancel the operation and close the dialog box.

    A number of confirmation messages are displayed one after the other.

  9. Click OK to close the messages and reload the structure of the new connection.

How to filter a database connection

After setting a specific database connection in the studio, you may not want to view all databases in the DQ Repository tree view of your Studio.

You can filter your database connections to list the databases that match the filter you set. This option is very helpful when the number of databases in a specific connection is very big.

Prerequisite(s): A database connection is already created in the Profiling perspective of the studio. For further information, see Connecting to a database.

To filter a database connection, do the following:

  1. In the DQ Repository tree view, expand Metadata > DB Connection.

  2. Right-click the database connection you want to filter and select Package Filter to open the corresponding dialog box.

  3. In the Package Filter field, enter the complete name of the database you want to view and then click Finish to close the dialog box.

    Only the database that matches the filter you set is listed under the database connection in the DQ Repository tree view.

To cancel the filter, do the following:

  1. In the [Package Filter] dialog box, delete the text from the Package Filter field.

  2. Click Finish to close the dialog box.

    All databases are listed under the selected database connection in the DQ Repository tree view.

How to duplicate a database connection

To avoid creating a DB connection from scratch, you can duplicate an existing one in the DB Connections list and work around its metadata to have a new connection.

Prerequisite(s): A database connection is created in the Profiling perspective of the studio. For further information, see Connecting to a database.

To duplicate a connection to a specific database, do the following:

  1. In the DQ Repository tree view, expand Metadata DB Connections.

  2. Right-click the connection you want to duplicate and select Duplicate from the contextual menu.

The duplicated database connection shows under the connection list in the DQ Repository tree view as a copy of the original connection. You can now open the duplicated connection and modify its metadata as needed.

How to add a task to a database connection or any of its elements

You can add a task to a database connection to use it as a reminder to modify the connection or to flag a problem that needs to be solved later, for example. You can also add a task to a catalog, a table or a column in the connection.

Prerequisite(s): A database connection is created in the Profiling perspective of the studio. For further information, see Connecting to a database.

To add a task to a database connection, do the following:

  1. Expand Metadata and DB connections.

  2. Right-click the connection to which you want to add a task, and then select Add task... from the contextual menu.

    The [Properties] dialog box opens showing the metadata of the selected connection.

  3. In the Description field, enter a short description for the task you want to attach to the selected connection.

  4. On the Priority list, select the priority level and then click OK to close the dialog box.

    The created task is added to the Tasks list.

Note

You can follow the same steps in the above procedure to add a task to a catalog, a table or a column in the connection. For further information, see Adding a task to a column in a database connection.

For more information on how to access the task list, see Displaying the task list.

How to filter tables/views in a database connection

You can filter the tables/views to list under any database connection.

This option is very helpful when the number of tables in the database to which the studio is connecting is very big. If so, a message is displayed prompting you to set a table filter on the database connection in order to list only defined tables in the DQ Repository tree view.

Prerequisite(s): A database connection is already created in the Profiling perspective of the studio. For further information, see Connecting to a database.

To filter table/views in a database connection, do the following:

  1. In the DQ Repository tree view, expand Metadata > DB Connections.

  2. Expand the database connection in which you want to filter tables/views and right-click the desired catalog/schema.

  3. Select Table/View Filter from the list to display the corresponding dialog box.

  4. Set a table and a view filter in the corresponding fields and click Finish to close the dialog box.

Only tables/views that match the filter you set are listed in the DQ Repository tree view.

How to delete or restore a database connection

You can move a database connection to the studio recycle bin whether it is used by analyses or not. You can also restore the deleted database connection.

Warning

When you delete a database connection from the Profiling perspective of the studio, it will be automatically deleted from the Metadata node in the Integration perspective and vice versa. The deleted connection will go to the Recycle Bin of both perspectives.

Prerequisite(s): A database connection is created in the Profiling perspective of the studio. For further information, see Connecting to a database.

To delete a database connection from the Metadata node, do the following:

  1. In the DQ Repository tree view, expand Metadata > DB Connections.

  2. Right-click a database connection and select Delete in the contextual menu.

    The database connection is moved to the Recycle Bin.

    You can still run the analyses that use the connection in the recycle bin. However, an alert message will be displayed next to the connection name in the analysis editor.

To delete the connection from the Recycle Bin, do the following:

  1. Right-click the database connection in the Recycle Bin and choose Delete from the contextual menu.

    A confirm deletion dialog box is displayed.

  2. Click OK.

    If the connection is not used by any analysis, it is deleted from the studio.

    If the connection is used by one or more analyses in the studio, a dialog box is displayed to list such analyses.