Managing project authorizations - 6.3

Talend Administration Center User Guide

EnrichVersion
6.3
EnrichProdName
Talend Big Data
Talend Big Data Platform
Talend Data Fabric
Talend Data Integration
Talend Data Management Platform
Talend Data Services Platform
Talend ESB
Talend Real-Time Big Data Platform
task
Administration and Monitoring
Deployment
EnrichPlatform
Talend Administration Center

Warning

Only users that have the Administrator role and rights can have a read-write access to this page. Other users, depending on their roles, can have either a read-only access or no access to this page. For further information on access rights, see User roles/rights in the Administration Center. When a user of the Administration Center opens this page, he/she will have access only to the items for which the user has been granted the right authorization by the Administrator.

The Project Authorizations page in Talend Administration Center allows you to manage user authorizations. From this page, you can:

Accessing the project authorization list

To display the project authorization list for the users of Talend Studio:

  • In the Menu tree-view, click Project Authorizations.

    The list of projects is displayed in the Project panel and the list of users is displayed in the User/Group Authorizations for the Project: <projectName> panel if you ordered authorizations by projects.

Note that the authorizations can be ordered by projects (Authorizations by project) or by users (Authorizations by user/group).

From this page, an Administrator can allocate resources and define user accesses to projects.

Note

Authorizations can automatically appear on the Project Authorizations page if Talend Studio users created their sandbox project. For more information on sandbox projects, see Managing sandbox projects.

Authorizing users on projects

Administrators can give a user or user group the right to access one or more projects. Once the authorization is created, when any user of the Administration Center opens the Project authorizations page, he/she will have access only to the items for which the user has been granted the right authorization by the Administrator.

Note that the assigned users have to relaunch the Studio to take this authorization into account.

Prerequisite: To allocate resources and define user accesses to projects, the Administrator needs first to add projects to the list. For more information, see Adding a project.

If authorizations are ordered by projects

  1. In the Menu tree-view, select Project Authorizations to display the authorization list.

  2. In the Project Authorizations panel, select the project to which you want to assign a user or a user group.

  3. In the Right column of the User/Group panel, give read or read and write permissions to a user or user group by clicking the corresponding icons.

    The Read and Read write icons show on the projects on which the user or group can work by default. If a user or group cannot work on a project, a prohibition icon indicates that you cannot give rights to this user: it depends on the Type that is defined during the user creation in the Users page.

The number of users that have read access as well as the number of users that have read and write access to a project are updated in the corresponding columns of the Projects Authorizations panel.

If authorizations are ordered by users or user groups

  1. In the Menu tree-view, select Project authorizations to display the authorization list.

  2. In the User/Group panel, select the user you want to assign to a project.

  3. In the Right column of the Projects Authorizations panel, give read or read and write permissions to the user or user group by clicking the corresponding icons.

    The Read and Read write icons show on the projects on which the user or group can work by default. If a user or group cannot work on a project, a prohibition icon indicates that you cannot give rights to this user: it depends on the Type that is defined during the user creation in the Users page.

Note

A user or user group can only have access to a project of the same type or a subordinate type as his. For more information about users' types, see What domains can you work in depending on your user type and license.

The number of users that have read access as well as the number of users that have read and write access to a project are updated in the corresponding columns of the Projects Authorizations panel.

Changing or deleting authorizations on projects

In the User panel of the Projects authorizations page, users' or user groups' rights show next to their names.

The types of projects available in the Projects panel depends on the license you are using. For more information, see What domains can you work in depending on your user type and license.

How to change users' authorizations

  1. In the User/Group panel, select the user or user group whose rights you want to change.

  2. In the Project panel, the Read and Read write icons show on the projects on which the user or group can work by default. If a user or group cannot work on a project, a prohibition icon indicates that you cannot give rights to this user: it depends on the Type that is defined during the user creation in the Users page.

    To switch between read-only and read-write, click the desired project then click the Read write icon.

How to delete users' authorizations

  1. In the User panel, select the user or user group whose rights you want to delete.

  2. In the Project panel, the Read and Read write icons show on the projects on which the user or group can work by default. If a user or group cannot work on a project, a prohibition icon indicates that you cannot give rights to this user: it depends on the Type that is defined during the user creation in the Users page.

    To delete the user's or group's rights, click the icon corresponding to the right you want to delete. The icon is greyed and the user or group has no rights on this project.