You can make your datasets accessible to other users to enable collaborative work on a single data source.Sharing a dataset can be useful to avoid duplication for example, and allows other users to create pipelines on this data. Datasets can be shared by users who have been given the Share datasets and Share connections permissions in Talend Cloud Management Console. It allows the dataset owner to control the access level other users have on the shared dataset.
Users or group of users that you can share connections with are also managed in Talend Cloud Management Console, and you can assign them specific roles with different rights. These rights are:
- Owner: is able to see, edit, delete, and share the dataset, as well as to see the connection associated with the dataset.
- Editor: is able to see, edit, and share the dataset, as well as to see the connection associated with the dataset.
- Viewer: is able to see, share the dataset and to see the connection associated with the dataset.
However, users can only share a dataset with rights less than or equal to the ones they already have. If user A has the Editor role on a dataset and shares it with user B, User A can only give User B the Viewer or Editor role, but not Owner.
- means the dataset is not shared yet.
- means the dataset is shared with other users as Owner.
- means the dataset is shared with you as Editor or Viewer.
When sharing a dataset, the behavior is the following:
- Sharing a dataset will give access to it, and allow actions based on the rights given by the user sharing the dataset.
- When sharing a dataset, the underlying connection is also shared indirectly, with viewer rights.
- Revoking access to a dataset will prevent other users from seeing or using the dataset, as well as the underlying connection.
To summarize the previous rules and behaviors, let's take the following example:
- User A has access to Connection 1 and Dataset 1, that is based on this connection, and
decides to share Dataset 1 with User B.
- In addition to Dataset 1, Connection 1 is also shared indirectly, so user B will have
access to both and can even create a new dataset (Dataset 2) based on the shared
- User A now stops sharing dataset 1 with User B.
User B completely loses access to both Dataset 1 and Connection 1. However, User B can still access Dataset 2 with limited actions, but will not be able to refresh the dataset sample and display up to date data. To restore full access to dataset 2, user B must ask User A to give access to Connection 1 again.
Go to the Datasets
On this page, you can either:
- share the dataset directly from the dataset list.
- open the dataset detailed view and share it using the icon on the top right menu.
sharing icon to open the configuration window.
To share your dataset:
User groups have been previously created on Talend Cloud Management Console.
- With one user or one user group: select the group or person's name on the left panel and click the + icon that appears when you hover over the name in order to add this user as a collaborator.
- With several users or several user groups at once: select the groups or users on the left panel using Ctrl + Click or Shift + Click then select the role you want to give them in the Add as... list to add these users as collaborators.
To change the collaborators rights on the dataset, select the appropriate
access level on the list next to their names.
To remove users from the list of collaborators, click the red cross icon that
appears when you hover over their names.
Note: You can use this option to remove yourself from the list of contributors of a dataset that has been shared with you, in order to remove the underlying connection from your list for example.
- Click Share to take your changes into account and close the configuration window.
The dataset sharing status changes to dataset shared with other user(s).