Allocating Remote Engines and clusters to environments and workspaces - Cloud

Talend Remote Engine User Guide for Linux

Version
Cloud
Language
English
Operating system
Linux
Product
Talend Cloud
Module
Talend Remote Engine
Content
Design and Development
Installation and Upgrade
Last publication date
2024-02-23

Remote Engines and Remote Engine clusters belong to a single environment. When you create or edit a Remote Engine or Remote Engine cluster, you can allocate it to:

  • All workspaces of an environment.
  • One workspace. In this situation, only the account that has the Execute or the Use engines permission on this workspace can use this Remote Engines and cluster.
    Note: Users with the individual permission Engines - Use can only have the workspace permission Use engines. This workspace permission is the combination of the Execute and View permissions. For more information, see Predefined roles for Talend Management Console.

When you allocate an engine or an engine cluster to a workspace or an environment, if this engine or cluster already has scheduled tasks or plans assigned to it before this allocation, all those tasks or plans are automatically paused and assigned to a Cloud Engine, and the details of this pause are systematically added. The same is true when you delete an engine or an engine cluster.

Note that a paused task or plan on Cloud Engines neither starts Cloud Engine nor consumes tokens.

Procedure

  1. In Talend Management Console, open the Processing page.
  2. Click the Engines tab.
  3. If the engine/cluster exists, hover over the name and click the Edit icon.
    If the engine/cluster does not exist, click Add.
  4. Select the environment and workspace.
    If you allocate the engine/cluster to one workspace, the accounts must have the Execute or the Use engines permission on the workspace to be able to use this engine/cluster.
  5. Click Save.
  6. Optional: If this is a newly added remote engine:
    1. Click the name of the engine to access the Engine details page.
    2. Copy the Pair key to your clipboard. In the products and the documentation, this key is also referred to as a pre-authorization key or pre-authorized key. It is required when creating the engine either in your Amazon Web Services (AWS) or Microsoft Azure account or when installing it locally.