Deactivating users - Cloud

Talend Cloud Management Console User Guide

Version
Cloud
Language
English (United States)
Product
Talend Cloud
Module
Talend Management Console
Content
Administration and Monitoring > Managing projects
Administration and Monitoring > Managing users
Deployment > Deploying > Executing Pipelines
Deployment > Deploying > Executing Tasks
Deployment > Scheduling > Scheduling Tasks

Deactivated users can no longer log in toTalend Cloud and cannot use their personal tokens.

However, the objects owned by these deactivated accounts remain, intact and available to the active users who have appropriate access rights and permissions.

Before you begin

You must have the Users - Manage permission to complete this task.

About this task

Use the public REST API to deactivate users when they leave your company.

Procedure

  1. Create an API token from the portal:
    1. In the top-right corner, click your user name.
    2. Click Profile preferences > Personal access tokens > Add token.
    3. Enter a token name and click Generate.
    4. Copy the generated token and paste it somewhere secure.
  2. Find the account name of the user to deactivate in Account & Subscription > Account.
  3. Find the user name of the user to deactivate. From Talend Management Console, go to Users & Security > Users and copy the login of the user.
  4. Use the information from the previous steps to write your request. For example, using a curl request:
    curl -v -X POST 
    --header "Authorization: Bearer <token_value>" 
    --header "Content-Type: application/json" 
    -d '{ "accountName": "<account_name>", "userName": "<user_name>" }' 
    'https://iam.us.cloud.talend.com/scim/v2/Users/deactivate'

    Note that you must use a POST method, and the two headers are mandatory.