Skip to main content Skip to complementary content

Manage Collections

You may also select COLLECTIONS > Manage to manage your existing dashboards.

Steps

  1. Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage.
    • You see the list of Favorites . It is the default tab.
Information note

All the collections you have favorited are here.

  1. From here you may:
  2. Open/Edit the collection
  3. Restrict the list by using the Search Text
  4. Favorite or un- Favorite a dashboard
  5. Click the My tab.
Information note

All the collection you have created are here.

  1. From here you may:
  2. Open/Edit the collection
  3. Restrict the list by using the Search Text
  4. Create a new saved collection
  5. Delete an existing saved collection
  6. Favorite or un- Favorite a collection
  7. Share this collection with groups and/or users
  8. Edit the Name or Description of a collection
  9. Assign a collection to one or more (or all) Configurations
  10. Click the Recent Tab .
Information note

All the collections you have recently opened are here.

Example

Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage .

Click the My tab.

Click Create. Enter the name “New Collection” and press Enter.

Information note

You will then have a collection actually saved but with no objects inside yet.

  1. Click the Recently Viewed tab .

Delete a Collection

You may delete any collection that you created.

Information note

You may not delete a collection which you only have Viewer or Editor sharing permission to.

Steps

  1. Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage.
Information note

You may click the My tab in order to only see dashboards that you own and can delete.

  1. Select the line of the collections to delete.
  2. Click Delete .
  3. Click Yes .

Example

Go to Collections > Manage .

Click the My tab.

Select New Tables and click Delete.

Click Yes.

Favorite a Collection

You may favorite any dashboard that you created or is shared with you.

Information note

You may not Delete collection you do not own. However, you may simply unfavorite what is shared with you to remove it from your usual lists.

Steps

  1. Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage.
  2. Click the Favorite icon.
  3. To un-favorite, click the Favorite icon.

Example

Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage. Click the Favorite icon next to New Tables . Then go to the Favorites tab.

Un-favorite New Tables by clicking Favorite again.

Information note

Now it is removed from the Favorites tab.

Multi-Select in MANAGE Collections

You may perform all the MANAGE > Collections functions on multiple worksheets in the grid by multi-selecting. The Show actions control is then presented in the grid header with the number selected.

Shared Collections

Collections have an owner who is the creator of the collection. That owner may open, edit, or remove a collection. The collections that one owns may always be found in the My tab under COLLECTIONS > Manage .

In addition, a collection may be shared, with specific users and/or groups. One may share the collection as

  • Viewer able to see and query with the collection, as well as save it as a new collection and edit it.
  • Editor can edit the collection name and content. Only the owner can change the sharing options and delete the object

Once shared, users that are in the sharing criteria specified may view and favorite those collections, as well.

Steps

  1. Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage.
  2. Go to the My tab.
  3. Double-click in the Viewers or Editors cell for the row containing the collection.
  4. Pick users or groups to assign the sharing role.

Example

Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage. Click the Favorite icon next to New Tables . Then go to the Favorites tab.

Assign a Collection to a Configuration

When you assign a collection to one or more configurations, the collection will only appear in those configurations for all by the COLLECTIONS > Manage screens, e.g., the COLLECTIONS > Explore menu. In addition, when viewing the collections associated with an object, that collection will only appear when you are working in a configuration it is assigned to.

Information note

By default, a collection is available to all configurations. Once a configuration assignment is made, then those configurations are the only ones assigned.

If a configuration is deleted, then the assignments to it are removed.

When only one configuration is assigned, on deletion, the assignment reverts to All .

Steps

  1. Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage.
  2. Go to the My tab.
  3. Double-click the Configurations cell for the row containing the collection.
  4. Pick one or more configurations to assign the collection to.
  5. To assign a collection to all configurations, simply remove the specific (or all) specific configuration assignments.

Example

Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage and go to the My tab double-click on the Configurations cell for New Tables .

Select the Published configuration and click OK .

Now, click the New Tables collection:

And then click on AccountCategory .

The New Tables collection is not shown for this object in the Collections . This is because we are in the Demo Enterprise Architecture configuration, not the Published configuration.

Information note

Only collections that are either unassigned to a configuration or assigned to the current configuration are visible on the object page or worksheet for an object and only then available for including that object if you are the Owner or the collection is shared with you as an Editor .

Sharing a Collection

The owner (creator) of a collection may share that collection with users and/or groups.

Steps

  1. Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage.
  2. Go to the My tab.
  3. Either:
    • Right-click a collection and select Share .
    • Double-click in either the Viewers or Editors column for the collection to share
  4. Pick one or more users and/or groups to share the collection with.
  5. To un-share a collection, simply remove the specific (or all) users and/or groups.

Example

Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage . Click the My tab. Click the line for New Tables collection .

Double-click in the Viewers cell

and pick the user Bob to assign the sharing role.

Click ADD .

Log out and log in as Bob .

Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage . Click the Shared with Me tab. Click Search . Locate the New Collection collection. Click Favorite next to that collection.

Now, go to the Favorites tab and see this collection as Bob.

Information note

You cannot add to this collection as Bob because Bob does not own it.

Click on the collection name and then click Save As and enter the name “Bob’s Collection” and Click OK .

Information note

You may now edit the list. You could also share it back with Administrator .

You may save a shared collection before specifying whom to share it with. You may come back later and specify whom it will be shared with.

Working on Elements in a Collection

Just like labels , collections are available anywhere in the UI to add/remove objects, for bulk editing, and assisting in management.

Steps

  1. Go to COLLECTIONS > Manage .
  2. Click the My tab.
  3. Click a collection to open.
  4. Results are a common results (reports) page where you may operate on the items in grid mode .

Example

Go to More actions > Edit .

Information note

You may edit any properties of any number of items in the collection at a time.

Did this page help you?

If you find any issues with this page or its content – a typo, a missing step, or a technical error – let us know how we can improve!