Skip to main content Skip to complementary content

Manage Dashboards

You may also select DASHBOARDS > Manage to manage your existing dashboards.

Steps

  1. Go to DASHBOARDS > Manage.
    • You see the list of Favorites . It is the default tab.
Information note

All the dashboards you have favorited are here.

  1. From here you may:
  2. Open/Edit the dashboard
  3. Restrict the list by using the Search Text
  4. Favorite or un- Favorite a dashboard
  5. Click the My tab.
Information note

All the dashboards you have created are here.

  1. From here you may:
  2. Open/Edit the dashboard
  3. Restrict the list by using the Search Text
  4. Create a new saved dashboard
  5. Delete and existing saved dashboard
  6. Favorite or un- Favorite a dashboard
  7. Share this dashboard with groups and/or users
  8. Edit the Name or Description of a dashboard
  9. Assign a dashboard to one or more (or all) Configurations
  10. Click the Recent Tab .
Information note

All the dashboards you have recently opened are here.

  • From here you may:
  • Open/Edit the dashboard
  • Restrict the list by using the Search Text
  • Favorite or un- Favorite a dashboard

Example

Go to DASHBOARDS > Manage .

Click the My tab.

Click Create. Enter the name “New Dashboard” and press Enter.

Information note

You will then have a dashboard actually saved but with no filters defined yet.

  1. Click the Recent Tab .

Delete a Dashboard

You may delete any dashboard that you created.

Information note

You may not Delete dashboard owned by others. However, you may simply unfavorite what is shared with you to remove it from your usual lists.

Steps

  1. Go to DASHBOARDS > Manage.
Information note

You may click the My tab in order to only see dashboards you may delete.

  1. Select the line of the dashboard to delete.
  2. Click Delete .
  3. Click Yes .

Example

Go to Dashboards > Manage .

Click the My tab.

Select New Dashboard and click Delete.

Click Yes.

Favorite a dashboard

You may favorite any dashboard that you created or is shared with you.

Information note

You may not “delete” dashboards created by others. However, you may simply unfavorite what is shared with you to remove them from your usual lists.

Steps

  1. Go to DASHBOARDS > Manage.
  2. Click the Favorite icon.
  3. To un-favorite, click the Favorite icon.

Example

Go to DASHBOARDS > Manage. Click the Favorite icon next to New Dashboard . Then go to the Favorites tab.

Un-favorite New Dashboard by clicking Favorite again.

Information note

Now it is removed from the Favorites tab.

Multi-Select in MANAGE Dashboards

You may perform all the MANAGE > Dashboard functions on multiple worksheets in the grid by multi-selecting. The Show actions control is then presented in the grid header with the number selected.

Shared Dashboard

Dashboards have an owner who is the creator of the dashboard. That owner may open, edit, or remove a dashboard. The dashboards that one owns may always be found in the My tab under DASHBOARDS > Manage .

In addition, a dashboard may be shared, with specific users and/or groups. One may share the dashboard as

  • Viewer able to see and query with the dashboard, as well as save it as a new dashboard and edit it.
  • Editor can edit the dashboard name and content. Only the owner can change the sharing options, assign to configurations and delete the object.

Once shared, users that are in the sharing criteria specified may view and favorite those worksheets, as well.

Assign a Dashboard to a Configuration

When you assign a Dashboard to one or more configurations, the Dashboard will only appear in those configurations for all by the DASHBOARDS > Manage screens, e.g., the DASHBOARDS > Explore menu.

Information note

If a configuration is deleted then the assignments to it are removed.

When only one configuration is assigned, on deletion, the assignment reverts to All .

Steps

  1. Go to DASHBOARDS > Manage.
  2. Go to the My tab.
  3. Double-click in the Configurations cell for the row containing the Dashboard.
  4. Pick one or more configurations to assign the Dashboard to.
  5. To assign a Dashboard to all configurations, simply remove the specific (or all) specific configuration assignments.

Example

Go to DASHBOARDS > Manage and go to the My tab double-click on the Configurations cell for New Dashboard .

Select the Configuration and click OK .

Now, go to the DASHBOARDS > Explore and note the New Dashboard is not in the FAVORITES list.

But, if you switch configurations to that one, you will see the New Dashboard .

Share a Dashboard

Dashboards have an owner who is the creator of the dashboard. The owner (creator) of a dashboard may share that dashboard with users and/or groups. That owner may open, edit, and remove a dashboard. The dashboards that one owns may always be found in the My tab under DASHBOARDS > Manage .

In addition, a dashboard may be made public, or shared, with specific users and/or groups. Once shared, users that are in the sharing criteria specified may view and favorite those dashboards, as well.

Steps

  1. Go to DASHBOARDS > Manage.
  2. Go to the My tab.
  3. Select a dashboard.
  4. Click Share .
  5. Pick one or more users and/or groups to share the dashboard with.
  6. To un-share a dashboard, simply remove the specific (or all) users and/or groups.

Example

Go to DASHBOARDS > Manage.

Go to the My tab and select a My Dashboard in the list.

Click Share . Then pick the Business Users group along with Administrators and click OK . You have shared that dashboard with those users.

Information note

You may save a shared dashboard before specifying whom to share it with. You may come back later and specify whom it will be shared with.

Using Shared Dashboards

Simply because you have shared a dashboard does not mean that all those other users can see it. They must first look it up in Shared with Me. Once they have done so, they may

  • View it
  • Favorite it
  • Save As their own dashboard that they may edit.

Steps

  1. Sign in as a user with the Application Administrator capability global role assignment .
  2. Go to DASHBOARDS > Manage.
  3. Go to the Shared with Me tab.
Information note

This list will be empty at first. You must search for dashboards that are shared with you.

  1. Enter text in Search Text , pick an OWNER , or just click Search .
  2. From here you may:
    • Open/Edit the dashboard
    • Restrict the list by using the Search Text
    • Restrict the list by using the OWNER
    • Favorite or un- Favorite a dashboard

Example

Sign is as Bob . Go to DASHBOARDS > Manage , then go to the Shared with Me tab.

You may enter text, but in this case the list is short so just click Search .

Select the My Dashboard and click Favorite .

Go to the Favorites tab.

Information note

The My Dashboard is now a part of your favorites.

Did this page help you?

If you find any issues with this page or its content – a typo, a missing step, or a technical error – let us know how we can improve!